Skip navigation

ASHRAE Installs Officers and Directors

The American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) installed new officers and directors during its 2008 Annual Meeting June 21-25 in Salt Lake City.

The president for 2008-2009 is William Harrison, president, Trane Arkansas, Little Rock, Ark. With a presidential theme of “Maintain to Sustain — Delivering ASHRAE's Sustainability Promise,” he sees effective commissioning, improved documentation, and programs to educate and certify building operators as keys to unlocking the energy-efficiency potential of buildings.

“If the studies are accurate, we have a no-regrets method to reduce energy use in buildings by 10 to 40 percent solely by improving building operations,” Harrison said. “All we have to do is communicate and educate more effectively. It is our duty. We are pledged to deliver ASHRAE's promise of sustainability, and to do that we must maintain to sustain, we must train to sustain, and we must influence the operation of our buildings to conserve energy.”

Also installed for one-year terms were:

  • President-Elect Gordon V.R. Holness, PE, consulting engineer, Grosse Pointe Shores, Mich.

  • Treasurer Lynn G. Bellenger, PE, partner, Pathfinder Engineers, Rochester, N.Y.

  • Vice President Jim Fields, vice president, Superior Mechanical Services, Greensboro, N.C.

  • Vice President Andrew Persily, PhD, group leader, National Institute of Standards and Technology, Gaithersburg, Md.

  • Vice President Vincent Tse, managing director, Parsons Brinckerhoff (Asia), Hong Kong.

  • Vice President Thomas Watson, PE, chief engineer, McQuay International, Staunton, Va.

Installed for three-year terms were:

  • Region VII Director and Regional Chair Pat Kempf, retired from Gulf Power Co., Pensacola, Fla.

  • Region VIII Director and Regional Chair Kenneth Fulk, PE, partner, Reed, Wells, Benson & Co., Dallas.

  • Region IX Director and Regional Chair Rich Rose, owner/general manager, Mechanical Technology, Billings, Mont.

  • Region X Director and Regional Chair Jack Zarour, lead mechanical engineer, Genentech, San Francisco.

  • Region-at-Large Director and Regional Chair Walid Chakroun, PhD, chairman, Mechanical Engineering Department, College of Engineering and Petroleum, Kuwait University, Kuwait.

  • Director-at-Large Tim Dwyer, principal lecturer, London South Bank University, London.

  • Director-at-Large Wayne Reedy, retired engineering manager, Carrier Corp., Indianapolis.

  • Director-at-Large Kay Thrasher, vice president, Townsend Engineering, Chattanooga, Tenn.

Send news items to the attention of Scott Arnold, executive editor, HPAC Engineering, The Penton Media Building, 1300 E. Ninth St., Cleveland, OH 44114-1503; e-mail: [email protected]; fax: 216-696-3432. Electronic submissions are preferred.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.