BOMA/Chicago to Begin Accepting Applications for TOBY Awards

BOMA/Chicago will begin accepting applications for the BOMA/Chicago 2010-2011 The Outstanding Building of the Year (TOBY) Awards this week. Applications will be able to be submitted electronically through the BOMA/Chicago Website.

Applications are due by Sept. 24, and judging will occur in October and early November. Winners will be announced at the BOMA/Chicago Gold Circle Awards Gala in January 2011. This is first level of competition exclusively for BOMA/Chicago buildings. Winning entries then have the opportunity to advance to the regional level in each of the North Central region of BOMA International. Regional winners will advance to the international level. Winning BOMA/Chicago TOBY buildings will have four weeks in February to submit their buildings electronically to the Regional TOBY awards.

The TOBY Awards recognize excellence in building management, operational efficiency, sustainability, tenant retention, emergency planning, and community impact. This year, the entry criteria have increased emphasis on sustainability. All buildings submitted for the TOBY Awards are required to have an Energy Star rating.

2010/2011 award categories include:

• Under 100,000 sq ft
• 100,000 to 249,999 sq ft
• 250,000 to 499,999 sq ft
• 500,000 to 1 million sq ft
• Over 1 million sq ft
• Renovated building
• Historical building
• Corporate facility
• Medical-office building
• Government building
• Suburban office park (low-rise)
• Suburban office park (mid-rise)
• Industrial office park
• Earth

Call the BOMA/Chicago office at (312) 870-9600 with questions.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.