Skip navigation

Control Trends Awards Finalists Announced

The Control Trends Awards Governing Body, the global member governing organization overseeing the Control Trends Awards, has announced the 12 category finalists for its 2012 awards. Control Trends and the Control Trends Academy were created to provide HVAC and industrial controls professionals a place to learn and share information about the rapidly changing world of commercial and industrial controls.

The Control Trends Awards recognize the “heroes and superstars” of the HVAC, controls, and building-automation industry.

The 2012 Control Trends Awards finalists are:

Building Automation System of the Year

• Honeywell WEBS

• Vykon

• Johnson Controls FX

• Easy IO

• Loytec LINX

Building Automation Controller of the Year

• Easy IO-30P-SF

• Honeywell Spyder

• Johnson Controls FX-PCG

• Vykon 234E

• Lynxspring JENSYS


Best Commercial Product of the Year

• Belimo Energy Valve

• Honeywell JADE Economizer

• Ecobee Smart SI

• Siemens Pressure Independent Control Valve

• Viconics VT7600 Thermostat

Best Automation Graphic Tool of the Year

• DGLux by DGLogic

• J2 Innovations

• SkyFoundry

• Continual Eyes

• Johnson Controls FX Asset Tool

Best Building Energy Management Application of the Year

• Active Logix Periscope

• CSI3 Prophet

• Johnson Controls Panoptix

• Building Logix Energy Logix

• eSight Energy

Best Commercial HVAC Controls Vendor of the Year

• Honeywell

• Belimo

• Johnson Controls


• Viconics

Best Variable-Frequency-Drive of the Year

• Honeywell Smart VFD

• Teco-Westinghouse


• Yaskawa Z1000

• Siemens

Best Technical Support of the Year

• Honeywell

• Vykon

• Johnson Controls

• Belimo


Most Valuable Support Person of the Year

• Roger Rebennack, Honeywell

• James Johnson, Vykon

• Laura Kevitt, Vykon/Honeywell

• Barry Gordon, ACI

• Chris Lane, JCI

HVAC Controls Executive of the Year

• Chris Eichmann, Johnson Controls

• Mike Keller, Honeywell

• Mike Marston, EASY IO

• Terry Swope, Lynxspring

• Stuart Lombard, Ecobee

• Ed Merwin, Tridium

Person of the Year (Professionalism, Integrity, Dedication)

• Gary Weber, Belimo

• Roger Rebennack, Honeywell

• Mike Marston, EASY IO

• Ed Merwin, Vykon

• Stuart Lombard, Ecobee

Thermostat of the Year

• Nest Thermostat

• Ecobee Smart Thermostat

• Honeywell Prestige

• Viconics VT7600 Series

• EnTouch EMS Stat

The finalists and winners announced for each category will be honored at the CTA Awards luncheon Tuesday, Jan. 29, 2013 at Eddie Deen's Ranch in Dallas, Texas. More information on the CTA awards is available at

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.