Latest from Air Conditioning
Johnson Controls-Hitachi Air Conditioning
Ed Purvis

AHRI Announces New Officers, Presents Awards

Dec. 2, 2014
AHRI’s new chairman is Ed Purvis, executive vice president, Emerson Climate Technologies.

The Air-Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration Institute (AHRI) elected new officers and presented awards during its Annual Meeting Nov. 16-18 in Carlsbad, Calif.

Ed Purvis

AHRI’s new chairman is Ed Purvis, executive vice president, Emerson Climate Technologies.

The officers and executive committee are:

  • Vice Chairman: Doug Young, Lennox International Residential Heating and Cooling.
  • Treasurer: Chris Drew, Burnham Holdings.
  • Immediate Past Chairman: Robert McDonough, Carrier/UTC.
  • Executive Committee: Dennis Appel, Luvata Grenada; Gary Clark, Goodman Manufacturing; John Galyen, Danfoss; Nick Giuffre, Bradford White; Bill Johnson, HillPhoenix; Chris Peel, Rheem Manufacturing Co.; Earle Pfefferkorn, Cleaver-Brooks; Dave Regnery, Trane; Rod Rushing, Johnson Controls; Bill Steel, Bard Manufacturing; and Kevin Wheeler, A. O. Smith.

The Richard C. Schulze Award, which recognizes distinguished service and commitment to AHRI and the industry’s goals and objectives, was presented to: Ron Duncan, Magic Aire; Phillip Johnson, Daikin Applied; Dave LaGrand, NORDYNE; Bill McQuade, Johnson Controls; and Rajan Rajendran, Emerson Climate Technologies.

The AHRI Public Service Award, which recognizes individuals or organizations that have made a significant contribution to the HVACR industry and in furthering AHRI’s goals, was presented to Cedric Sloan, recently retired director general of the Federation of Environmental Trade Associations, based in the United Kingdom.

The AHRI Distinguished Service Award, which recognizes individuals who are leaders in the industry and who have made significant contributions throughout their careers, was presented to C. David Myers, formerly vice president and president, building efficiency, for Johnson Controls.

About the Author

Scott Arnold | Executive Editor

Described by a colleague as "a cyborg ... requir(ing) virtually no sleep, no time off, and bland nourishment that can be consumed while at his desk" who was sent "back from the future not to terminate anyone, but with the prime directive 'to edit dry technical copy' in order to save the world at a later date," Scott Arnold joined the editorial staff of HPAC Engineering in 1999. Prior to that, he worked as an editor for daily newspapers and a specialty-publications company. He has a bachelor's degree in journalism from Kent State University.