AHR Expo Innovation Award Winners Announced

Nine exhibitors with products judged the most innovative among the thousands to be displayed will be recognized during the 2008 International Air-Conditioning, Heating, Refrigerating Exposition (AHR Expo), to be held Jan. 22-24 at Jacob Javits Convention Center in New York City.

The exhibitors, recipients of 2008 AHR Expo Innovation Awards, will be honored Jan. 22 at 1 p.m. in New Product Technology Theater A, located in Hall 1D on Level 1.

Recognizing innovation, application, value to user, and market impact, AHR Expo Innovation Awards are given in nine categories. This year's recipients are:

  • Building Automation: Tek-Air Systems Inc. for the AccuValve new air-control valve by Accutrol LLC.

  • Cooling: Nordyne for the 23-SEER air conditioner with iQ Drive.

  • Green Building: Carrier Corp. for the Evergreen 23XRV chiller with Foxfire technology.

  • Heating: Hallowell International for the Acadia combined heating and cooling system.

  • Iaq (Indoor Air Quality): Lennox International for the Humiditrol Enhanced Dehumidification Accessory.

  • Refrigeration: Emerson Climate Technologies for the Copeland SystemPro condensing unit.

  • Software: Maxwell Systems Inc. for the Maxwell Systems Estimation Takeoff.

  • Tools & Instruments: Omega Engineering Inc. for the zSeries wireless sensor system.

  • Ventilation: ebm-papst Inc. for the five-blade EC axial fan with winglets.

The following companies received honorable mention: Building Automation — Building Automation Products Inc., Honeywell International, Reliable Controls Corp., and Viconics Electronics Inc.; Cooling — Baltimore Aircoil Co., Carrier Corp., Daikin AC (Americas) Inc., and Honeywell International; Green Building — Grundfos Pumps Corp., Lennox International, and Oventrop Corp.; Heating — AERCO International Inc., ClimateMaster Inc., Grundfos Pumps Corp., and Hydro Delta Corp.; IAQ (Indoor Air Quality) — Broan-NuTone LLC, Carrier Corp., and Hoffman Controls Corp.; Refrigeration — ebm-papst Inc., Sporlan Division-Parker Hannifin, and Tecumseh Products Co.; Software — Bidtracer Specialty Software Group LLC, Engineered Software Inc., Honeywell International, and Jonas Software Ltd.; Tools & Instruments — Appion Inc., Emerson Climate Technologies, and Nu-Calgon Wholesaler Inc.; Ventilation — AirConcepts Inc., GLV International Ltd., and Munters Corp.

A panel of American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) members reviewed and evaluated all submissions.

Winners will receive placards to display in their booths during the show, as well as an etched-crystal award to display at their headquarters.

Entry fees from the awards competition will be used to fund scholarships for HVACR students in the New York area.

The Innovation Awards are sponsored by ASHRAE, the Air-Conditioning and Refrigeration Institute, and International Exposition Co.

For more information on the AHR Expo Innovation Awards, visit www.ahrexpo.com.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.