AHR Expo Recognizes Product Innovation

Jan. 1, 2010
Award ceremony Jan. 26

Nine exhibitors with products judged the most innovative among the thousands on display will be recognized during the 2010 International Air-Conditioning, Heating, Refrigerating Exposition (AHR Expo), to be held Jan. 25-27 at the Orange County Convention Center in Orlando, Fla.

The exhibitors, recipients of 2010 AHR Expo Innovation Awards, will be honored Jan. 26 at 1 p.m. in New Product Technology Theater A on the show floor.

Recognizing innovation, application, value to user, and market impact, AHR Expo Innovation Awards are given in nine categories. This year's recipients are:

  • Building Automation: AIC Wireless for the WBT900 wireless device.

  • Cooling: Delphi for the Delphi Micro Channel Evaporator.

  • Green Building: Danfoss Inc. for the Performer VSD.

  • Heating: Daikin AC (Americas) Inc. for the VRV III-C heat-pump system.

  • IAQ (Indoor Air Quality): Samsung Electronics for SPi bacteria-eradication technology.

  • Refrigeration: Muller Industries Australia Pty. Ltd. for the 3C condenser.

  • Software: AEC Design Group for ArtrA O&M.

  • Tools: LA-CO Industries Inc. for Cool Gel heat-barrier spray.

  • Ventilation: DuraSystems Barriers Inc. for the DuraDuct HP blast duct system.

One of the nine category winners will receive the 2010 AHR Expo Product of the Year Award.

The following companies received honorable mention:

  • Building Automation: SCL Elements Inc., Distech Controls Inc., Bell & Gossett, HCI (Hydronic Components Inc.), and Viconics Electronics Inc.

  • Cooling: Danfoss Inc., Motivair Corp., ClimateMaster Inc., and Daikin AC (Americas) Inc.

  • Green Building: Daikin AC (Americas) Inc., Optimum Energy LLC, Controlled Air Systems Inc., and GALCO-CLIMALIFE.

  • Heating: Grundfos Pumps Corp., NTI-NY Thermal Inc., Heat Transfer Products Inc., Bryan Steam LLC, and Schwank Ltd.

  • IAQ (Indoor Air Quality): Dust Free LP, Purafil Inc., Daikin AC (Americas) Inc., and Honeywell International Inc.

  • Refrigeration: KeepRite Refrigeration and Trenton Refrigeration.

  • Software: Jonas Software, Heat Controller Inc., and MC4 Software LLC.

  • Tools: U.E.i. and CO2Meter.com.

  • Ventilation: E+E Elektronik Ges.m.b.H., Arzel Zoning Technology Inc., and Big Ass Fans.

A panel of American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) members evaluated all submissions.

Nearly $11,000 in entry fees from the competition will be given to the Jacksonville Police Athletic League to help cover the cost of a new HVAC control system.

The Innovation Awards are sponsored by ASHRAE; the Air-Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration Institute; and International Exposition Co., producers and organizers of the AHR Expo.

For more information on the AHR Expo Innovation Awards, go to www.ahrexpo.com.

Send news items to the attention of Scott Arnold, executive editor, HPAC Engineering, The Penton Media Building, 1300 E. Ninth St., Cleveland, OH 44114-1503; e-mail: [email protected]; fax: 913-514-6315. Electronic submissions are preferred.

About the Author

Scott Arnold | Executive Editor

Described by a colleague as "a cyborg ... requir(ing) virtually no sleep, no time off, and bland nourishment that can be consumed while at his desk" who was sent "back from the future not to terminate anyone, but with the prime directive 'to edit dry technical copy' in order to save the world at a later date," Scott Arnold joined the editorial staff of HPAC Engineering in 1999. Prior to that, he worked as an editor for daily newspapers and a specialty-publications company. He has a bachelor's degree in journalism from Kent State University.