ASHRAE Awards $80,000 in Scholarships

Normal.dotm0015943389Penton Media, Inc286416112.00false18 pt18 pt00falsefalsefalse

The American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) is awarding more than $80,000 in scholarship money to engineering students for the 2010-2011 school year. 

ASHRAE’s scholarships and their recipients include:

• Reuben Trane Scholarship: $10,000 to be awarded over two years. The recipients are Benjamin Oliver, McMaster University, mechanical engineering and management; Jacob Wagner, Kansas State University, mechanical engineering; and Sean Kolich, Kansas State University, architectural engineering. The scholarship was established by Trane Co. in memory of its founder.

• Willis H. Carrier Scholarships: $10,000 for one year. The recipients are Daniel Cowan, University of New Haven, mechanical engineering; and Andrea Gregg, Kansas State University, architectural engineering. The scholarship was established by Carrier Corp. in memory of its founder.

•Frank M. Coda: $5,000 for one year. The recipient is Scott Reed, East Carolina University, engineering. The scholarship was created in memory of a former ASHRAE executive vice president who served from 1981-2004.

The following awards include one-year $3,000 scholarships:

• Duane Hanson Scholarship: The recipient is Sean Holder, St. Louis University, mechanical engineering. The scholarship was established by Gayner Engineers and is named for the company’s former president.

•Alwin B. Newton Scholarship: The recipient is Cory Hultz, Oregon Institute of Technology, mechanical engineering. The scholarship is named for an industry pioneer and ASHRAE Fellow who was granted 219 patents.

• Henry Adams Scholarship: The recipient is Kaylee Damico, Pennsylvania State University, architectural engineering. The scholarship was established by Henry Adams Inc. in memory of its founder, a Charter Member and sixth president of ASHRAE’S predecessor society, ASHVE, in 1899.

• ASHRAE Region IV/Benny Bootle Scholarship: The recipient is James Wood, Clemson University, bioengineering. The scholarship was established collaboratively by Region IV and Benny Bootle, a former Region IV director and regional chair on the ASHRAE Board of Directors.

• ASHRAE Region VIII Scholarship: The recipient is Jacob Vazquez, Instituto Tecnológicoy deEstudios Superiores de Monterrey (ITESM), mechanical engineering. This scholarship was established by Region VIII, which includes Arkansas, Oklahoma, and Mexico as well as parts of Louisiana and Texas.

• J. Richard Mehalick Scholarship: The recipient is Matthew Kaminski, University of Pittsburgh, mechanical engineering. The scholarship was created by a former ASHRAE member who was instrumental in the development of air-conditioning equipment used in commercial, military, aerospace, and transportation application.

• Donald E. Nichols Scholarship: The recipient is Jonathan Squires, Tennessee Technological University, mechanical engineering. The scholarship was established by a former member of ASHRAE’s Board of Directors who served for four terms.

• ASHRAE Memorial Scholarship: The recipient is Terrance Eakin, Ohio State University, mechanical engineering.

• Associate of Engineering Technology: The recipient is Robert Toungate, Austin Community College, heating, air-conditioning, and refrigeration technology; and Morgan Najewicz, Pennsylvania State University-Fayette, building engineering technology with building-environmental-systems-technology option.

• Bachelor of Engineering Technology: The recipient is Matthew Kuli, Pennsylvania State University-Erie, mechanical engineering technology.

• ASHRAE General Scholarships: The recipient is Matthew Reeves, University of South Florida, pre-engineering; and Alexander Cox, Washington University, mechanical engineering.

Over the course of 20 years, ASHRAE has awarded a combined $1 million to more than 200 undergraduate and graduate students.

For more information on ASHRAE scholarships, visit Applications are being accepted for the 2011-12 undergraduate, regional, and university-specific scholarships. The deadline is Dec. 1.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.