Skip navigation

ASHRAE Recognizes HVACR-Industry Achievements

The American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) is recognizing 36 people for their contributions to the Society and the building industry during the Society’s 2012 Winter Conference, being held Jan. 21-25 in Chicago.

The Hall of Fame honors deceased members of the Society who have made milestone contributions to the growth of HVACR technology. The recipient is Presidential Member Roderick Kirkwood, Fellow ASHRAE, Life Member.

Fellow ASHRAE is a membership grade that recognizes distinction in the arts and sciences of environmental technology and is earned through achievement as a researcher, designer, educator, or engineering executive. The Society elevated 13 members to the grade of Fellow ASHRAE:

• Constantinos Balaras, research director, Institute for Environmental Research and Sustainable Development, National Observatory of Athens, Greece.

• Van Baxter, senior research and development engineer, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, Tenn.

• Vin Gupta, senior principal engineer, 3M Co., St. Paul, Minn.

• Mark Modera, professor, civil environmental engineering, mechanical and aerospace engineering, and director, Western Cooling Efficiency Center, University of California at Davis.

• Darin Nutter, associate professor of mechanical engineering, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville.

• Tom Phoenix, principal and vice president, Moser Mayer Phoenix Associates, Greensboro, N.C.

• Arshad Sheikh, owner/principal consultant, SES Consulting Engineers, Lahore, Pakistan.

• Edward Vineyard, group leader, building-equipment research, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, Tenn.

• Iain Walker, scientist, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Berkeley, Calif.

• Brian Warwicker, consultant, Brian Warwicker Partnership Ltd., London.

• Bill Worek, professor and director, Energy Technology Laboratory, University of Illinois-Chicago.

• Xudong Yang, Chang-Jiang professor and deputy director, Institute of Built Environment, School of Architecture, Tsinghua University, Beijing, China.

• Jianshun Zhang, professor and director, building energy and environmental-systems lab, department of mechanical engineering and aerospace engineering, Syracuse University, Syracuse, N.Y.

The ASHRAE Technology Award recognizes outstanding achievements by members who have successfully applied innovative building designs incorporating ASHRAE standards for effective energy management and indoor-air quality. Six projects received first-place ASHRAE Technology Awards:

• Roland Charneux, P.Eng., ASHRAE Fellow, ASHRAE Certified Healthcare Facility Design Professional, Pageau Morel & Associates, Montreal, Quebec, Canada, in the new commercial-buildings category for Mountain Equipment Co-op, Longueuil, Quebec, Canada. The building is owned by the co-op.

• Ken Sonmor, Ecovision Consulting, Montreal, Quebec, Canada, in the existing-commercial-buildings category for the IKEA Brossard Distribution Center, Quebec, Canada. The building is owned by IKEA Distribution Services.

• René Dansereau, Dessau, Longueuil, Quebec, Canada, in the new educational-facilities category for the Université de Sherbrooke—Campus de Longueuil, Quebec, Canada. The building is owned by the university.

• Paul Marmion, Stantec Consulting Ltd., Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada, in the new health-care-facilities category for Abbotsford Regional Hospital and Cancer Centre, British Columbia, Canada. The building is sponsored by Laing Investments Management Services and owned by the hospital.

• Blake Ellis, PE, Burns & McDonnell, Kansas City, Mo., in the new industrial-facilities-or-processes category for thermal-energy storage at Texas Medical Center, Houston. The owner is Thermal Energy Corp.

• Luc Simard, Compressor Systems Control (CSC) Inc., Les Coteaux, Quebec, Canada, in the existing-industrial-facilities-or-processes category for the Arena Marcel Dutil, St-Gédéon-de-Beauce, Quebec, Canada. The building is owned by the Municipalite St-Gédéon-de-Beauce.

The ASHRAE Student Design Project Competition challenged teams of students to create an integrated sustainable building design as well as select and design HVACR systems for the Drake Well Museum in Titusville, Pa., the site where Edwin L. Drake drilled the world's first oil well in 1859 and launched the modern petroleum industry. First place in HVAC System Design is awarded to Holly Brink, Michael Crabb, James Dougherty, Andrew Gilliam, and Gina Halbom of the University of Nebraksa-Omaha. First place in HVAC System Selection is awarded to Lynn Gualtieri, Evan Oda, Kristin Porter, Navid Saiidnia, Jeffrey Wong, and Cameron Young of California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo, Calif. First place in the Integrated Sustainable Building Design is awarded to Qi Te, Zhang Qiqi, and Chen Yuanyi of Tianjin University, China.

The John F. James International Award is given to an ASHRAE member who has done the most to enhance the Society’s international presence. The recipient is Edward Ka Cheung Tsui, managing director, Intelligent Technologies Ltd., Hong Kong.

The E.K. Campbell Award honors outstanding achievements by engineering educators and is presented by the ASHRAE Life Members Club. The recipient is Wayne Helmer, PhD, PE, professor of mechanical engineering, Arkansas Tech University, Russellville, Ark.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.