Facility-Manager Credential Realigned With Two New Competency Areas

Competency areas for the International Facility Management Association’s (IFMA’s) flagship credential, Certified Facility Manager (CFM), now number 11, with the recent additions of emergency preparedness and business continuity and environmental stewardship and sustainability.

Established in 1992, CFM covers the broad scope of tasks and responsibilities common to contemporary facility management, which are represented by competency areas. The other competency areas are communication, finance and business, human factors, leadership and strategy, operations and maintenance, project management, quality, real-estate and property management, and technology.

“The information we used came straight from facility managers ... from around the world who strategically and tactically work in the built environment on a daily basis,” IFMA Chair Marc S. Liciardello, CFM, MBA, CM, said. “These competency areas weren’t conceived and developed in a board room. They reflect what we actually do.”

With the addition of the two new competency areas and the updating of existing competency areas, IFMA released a revised CFM exam.

For more information on CFM, go to http://bit.ly/IFMA_CFM.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.