Wassim A. Selman of Arcadis
Hpac0720 Cirt Wassim Selman

Construction Industry Round Table Announces Board Elections, New Chairman

July 20, 2020
Wassim A. Selman, PhD, PE, president of infrastructure at Arcadis, was elected as chair for a one-year term.

The Construction Industry Round Table, a national business trade association comprised of approximately 125 chief executives from design and construction companies, elected Wassim A. Selman, PhD, PE, as chair of the organization for one year. He was elected by proxy vote, along with new directors, after CIRT's spring conference was cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Selman is president of infrastructure at Arcadis.

"I am most honored to serve you and this exceptional organization as the chair for the next 12 months,” Selman said. “Since our last conference back in November, CIRT, our members, our families and friends, our country, and the entire world have and continue to face the unprecedented impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic and the ensuing economic shutdowns.

“These are turbulent times that require all of us to rise to the challenge and to lead our businesses and this wonderful organization through uncharted territories. I am rising to the challenge and the honor of chairing CIRT and will work with you on the way to our bright future."

In welcoming the new chairman, CIRT President Mark A. Casso, Esq., NAC, noted that with "Wassim's calm demeanor, thoughtful insights and commitment to inclusion, the [CIRT] couldn't have selected a better leader in these trying times, even if we went to central casting."

Board Elections

The following members were also elected as officers by proxy vote:

  • Vice-Chairman: Greg Cosko, president and CEO, Hathaway Dinwiddie, San Francisco, CA
  • Treasurer: Peter Emmons, CEO, Structural Group, Columbia, MD
  • Immediate Past Chairman: Paul Frazen, president, Barnard Construction Inc., Bozeman, MT

In addition to the executive committee elections, CIRT also welcomed the following four industry leaders as new directors who will serve on the board through 2023:

  • Ken Aldridge, chairman, Aldridge Electric Inc., Libertyville, IL
  • Tom Reilly, executive vice president, Turner Construction Co., New York, NY
  • Chris Traylor, co-president, Traylor Bros., Evansville, IN
  • Jim Whitaker, FAIA, FDBIA, director of government and alternative project delivery principal, HKS Inc., Dallas, TX