ABMA Accepting Applicants for Rawson Scholarships

March 14, 2024
Boiler manufacturers group announces new round of annual awards, sets May 15 deadline.


Vienna VA - March 12, 2024 | The application for the 2024 Randy Rawson Scholarship is now available. Awarded annually, the Rawson scholarships continue to recognize deserving students with technical career aspirations in boiler engineering and fabrication. 

For 2024, ABMA is accepting online applications, accessible below. Responses are due May 15.

Click Here to Apply

Named after the former longtime president of ABMA, the scholarship program was created for the Promotion of Careers in Boiler Engineering and Fabrication. A special fund has been set aside to the support scholarship program and is operated exclusively for charitable and educational purposes. The specific purpose of the Fund is to support post-secondary education and/or training of graduating high school students pursuing careers in the commercial, institutional, industrial or power-generating boiler, combustion and related equipment industry through educational scholarships.

  • For more on the life and legacy of Mr. Rawson, click here.
The number and amount of scholarships awarded are determined by the ABMA Board of Directors each year in which scholarships are offered. In 2023, the ABMA awarded ten (10) scholarships and has given out almost $265,000 since its inception.


An eligible student must be full-time and is enrolled in or has been accepted by an accredited post-secondary institution of higher learning or similarly-accredited community college, vocational or trade/technical school and has a high school diploma or General Education Development (GED). The applicant must be a relative of an employee of an ABMA member company in good standing or sponsored by an ABMA member company. No applicant for a Fund scholarship shall be discriminated against on the basis of sex, race, religion, national origin, sexual orientation, or citizenship.

Required Documentation

Incomplete applications will not be accepted and applications that do not comply with all instructions will be negatively impacted during the review process. Applicants must submit:

  • Scholarship Application;
  • Complete school-issued high school or college transcript (whichever is applicable);
  • Two (2) letters of recommendation from among the following: one should be from an educational institution representative (e.g. high school principal, professor, advisor etc.) and one from an executive at a sponsoring company or individual familiar with the student's community or public service. Parents can be sponsors but cannot offer recommendations;
  • Acceptance letter from a nationally or regionally accredited post-secondary college, university, or similarly accredited community college, vocational, trade or technical school. (High School and Transfer Students Only);
  • SAT or ACT scores. (High School Students Only);
  • Personal Statement.

2023 Scholarship Recipients

Benjamin Clasby – Mechanical Engineering – University of Dayton
Sponsored by Detroit Stoker Company

Garrett Diesing – Mechanical Engineering - University of Toledo
Sponsored by Detroit Stoker Company

Kyla Flanagan – Mechanical Engineering – Abilene Christian University
Sponsored by RENTECH Boiler Systems

Calvin Joyce – Mechanical Engineering – Abilene Christian University
Sponsored by RENTECH Boiler Systems

Nathan Kaesbauer – Mechanical Engineering - University of Iowa
Sponsored by Wabash Power Equipment Company

Benjamin Kamka – Engineering – University of Dayton
Sponsored by Wabash Power Equipment Company

Matthew Perrydore - Facilities & Operations Management – Southern New Hampshire University
Sponsored by RENTECH Boiler Systems

Rexford Shippy – Environmental Engineering – Texas A&M
Sponsored by CECO Peerless

Tyler Shippy - Electrical Engineering - Texas A&M
Sponsored by CECO Peerless

Christopher Twilleger - Electronic System Technology - Wichita Technical Institute 
Sponsored by Webster Combustion 


For more information, please click here or contact Tyler Vollmer, ABMA Membership Engagement Manager at [email protected].