Ashrae Logo2

ASHRAE Announces 2020-21 Society Scholarship Recipients

Oct. 6, 2020
Applications are now being accepted for the 2021-22 scholarships; deadline is Dec. 1, 2020.


ASHRAE announced the recipients of 30 scholarships, totaling $167,000, for the 2020-21 academic year.

“We are extremely proud of the 2020-21 ASHRAE scholarship recipients,” said Michel Hayek, chair of the ASHRAE scholarship trustees. “These individuals represent the future of the HVACR industry and ASHRAE is pleased to support this bright future by providing scholarship opportunities to students each year.”

The following awards provide a $10,000 scholarship:

Willis H. Carrier Scholarship

Kylene Landenberger, mechanical engineering, California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo; and Molly Sizemore, architectural engineering, Pennsylvania State University, are the recipients. The scholarship was established by the Carrier Corp. in memory of its founder, who installed the world’s first scientifically designed air-conditioning system.

Reuben Trane Scholarships

William Welch, mechanical engineering, University of California – Los Angeles; Owen Lutz, architectural engineering, Kansas State University; and Alexis Sheeto, architectural engineering, Pennsylvania State University are the recipients. It is to be awarded over two years. Trane Co. set up the scholarship in memory its founder, an innovative engineer, inventor and business executive, who held 28 patents.

Gordon V.R. Holness Engineering Scholarship

Haley Webbert, mechanical engineering, University of Nevada – Reno, is the recipient of this scholarship, named in honor of ASHRAE Presidential Member Holness, P.E., Fellow ASHRAE, Life Member, who served as the society’s president in 2009-10.

Gordon V.R. Holness Engineering Technology Scholarship

Andrew Scott, architectural engineering technology, Vermont Technical College, is the recipient of the this scholarship.

The following awards provide one-year $5,000 scholarships:

Frank M. Coda Scholarship

Jon Cowart, electrical engineering, Pennsylvania State University, is the recipient. It was created in memory of ASHRAE’s former executive vice president, who served from 1981-2004.

Lynn G. Bellenger Engineering Scholarship

Christina Adams, industrial engineering, California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo, is the recipient. This scholarship recognizes female undergraduate engineering students and is named in memory of ASHRAE’s first female president, who served in 2010-11.

Alwin B. Newton Scholarship

Xianchen Hao, architectural engineering, University of Kansas, is the recipient of the Alwin B. Newton Scholarship named for an industry pioneer and ASHRAE Fellow who was granted 219 patents.

David C.J. Peters Scholarship

Isabella Gayoso, mechanical engineering, Pennsylvania State University, is the recipient of the scholarship, created by  quality.

Duane Hanson Scholarship

Christian Fauer, mechanical engineering, Auburn University, is the recipient of the Duane Hanson Scholarship, established by Gayner Engineers and is named for the company’s former president.

•  Legacy Scholarship

This year’s recipient is Sean Lacey, mechanical engineering, University of Akron.

ASHRAE Region IV Benny Bootle Scholarship

Ian Durr, mechanical engineering, Kennesaw State University, is the recipient of the Region IV scholarship, named for a former Region IV chair and regional director on the ASHRAE board of directors.

James R. Bullock Jr. Scholarship

Kayla McIntosh, architectural engineering, North Carolina A&T State University, is the recipient of the scholarship named in memory of the late Bullock Jr., P.E., Life Member of ASHRAE, who served as president of Environmental Air Systems Inc.

• Donald Brady Scholarship

The recipient is LeeRoy Nchinda, architectural engineering, North Carolina A&T State University. The scholarship was created by Donald Brady, Life Member of ASHRAE and a presidential member of ASHRAE’s North Piedmont Chapter.

Prem Jain Scholarship

Aashni Ujra, architectural engineering, Heriot Watt University, is the recipient of the Prem Jain Scholarship. The scholarship was created by Dr. Prem Jain, Life Member of ASHRAE, founder of ASHRAE’s India Chapter-at-Large and presidential member of the ASHRAE India Chapter, founder and presidential member of ISHRAE (Indian Society of Heating, Refrigeration, and Air-Conditioning Engineers).

General Scholarship

The recipient is Hunter Swope, architectural engineering, University of Cincinnati.

Engineering Technology Scholarships

Thomas Guilfoil, mechanical engineering technology, State University of New York – Canton and William Fretwell, architectural engineering technology, Vermont Technical, are the recipients.

Freshman Engineering Scholarship

The recipient is Joseph Kawiecki, mechanical engineering, Purdue University.

The following awards provide one-year $3,000 scholarships:

Henry Adams Scholarship

Stephen Batsa, mechanical engineering, Dalhousie University, is the recipient. The scholarship is named in memory of charter member and sixth president of ASHRAE’s predecessor society, ASHVE.

ASHRAE Region I Setty Family Foundation Scholarship

The recipient is William Hanna, mechanical engineering, Stevens Institute of Technology. The scholarship is named in honor of Boggarm Setty, Fellow ASHRAE, Life Member.

ASHRAE Region III Setty Family Foundation Scholarship

Alexandra Brown, architectural engineering, Pennsylvania State University, is the recipient.

ASHRAE Region VIII Scholarship

The recipient is Simon Devlin, mechanical and aerospace engineering, Oklahoma State University.

ASHRAE Central New York Chapter King-Traugott Scholarship

The recipient is Stanley Roberts, mechanical engineering technology, Sinclair Community College. It is named in memory of ASHRAE Life Members Fritz Traugott, Ph.D., Fellow ASHRAE, and Harry King.

High School Senior Scholarships

Seth Hoffman, mechanical engineering, Iowa State University; Braeden Duwa, mechanical engineering, University of Alabama; Noah Czelusta, mechanical engineering, Columbia University and Seth Reissig, mechanical engineering, Baylor University, are the recipients.

Applications are now being accepted for the 2021-22 undergraduate engineering, technology, regional/chapter, and university-specific scholarships. The application deadline is Dec. 1, 2020.

For more information on ASHRAE’s scholarships, including eligibility requirements and application materials, visit