Latest from Facility Management

Johnson Controls-Hitachi Air Conditioning
Ventilation Rate Sensors for IAQ-primary
Johnson Controls
CMS-2000 Central Monitoring Station
Johnson Controls
Autocall Foundation Series Small-Building Fire Detection
Bradford White Corp.
Electriflex Series Commercial Electric Water Heaters
AutoCAD MEP Toolset
Johnson Controls
Choice Commercial Rooftop Unit Line Expansion
Alliance to Save Energy
Hpac 3884 Hpac0817 News Alliance To Save Energy Awards 0

Alliance to Save Energy Honors ‘Stars of Energy’

Aug. 15, 2017
For 25 years, the group has recognized innovators in the field of energy efficiency and rewarded the hard work of those dedicated to saving energy.

In 1993, the Alliance to Save Energy presented its first Star of Energy Efficiency Award to then-U.S. Sen. Tim Wirth from Colorado. Twenty-five years and 131 awards later, the group continues to recognize innovators in the field of energy efficiency and reward the hard work of those most dedicated to saving energy.

More than 400 of energy efficiency's elite will attend the Stars of Energy Efficiency Awards Dinner Sept. 14 at the Mellon Auditorium. Award recipients for 2017 are:

Charles H. Percy Award for Public Service: The National Renewable Energy Laboratory will receive the Charles H. Percy Award for Public Service for 40 years of leadership in the industry and for pioneering clean technology, from high-performance buildings to sustainable transportation innovation.

Chairman's Award: Itron Inc. has been selected by U.S. Sen. Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH) to receive the Chairman's Award for its breakthrough OpenWay Riva technology for smart utilities and smart cities.

Stars of Energy Efficiency:

• 7-Eleven is being honored with the Built Environment Award for its continued commitment to improving efficiency across store operations through energy management systems, LED lighting and high-efficiency HVAC units. 

• American Water is the recipient of the Innovative Award for its game-changing geothermal system at William Buck Elementary School in Valley Stream, N.Y., which saved the school 41,000 kBtu/sq. ft. last year.

• Chevrolet Bolt EV will receive the Transportation Award for its revolutionary vehicle technology and for driving energy conservation in the sector. The Bolt EV is positioned to save American customers millions in avoided fuel costs.

• Schneider Electric will be honored with the Industry & Manufacturing Award for the company's commitment to comprehensive improvements in energy intensity through multiple energy-efficiency projects across its 24 plants.