ASHRAE Recognizes HVACR-Industry Achievements at 2014 Winter Confab

Jan. 20, 2014
46 people are being recognized for their contributions to ASHRAE and the buildings industry during ASHRAE’s 2014 Winter Conference, being held Jan. 18-22 in New York.

Forty-six people are being recognized for their contributions to ASHRAE and the buildings industry during ASHRAE’s 2014 Winter Conference, being held Jan. 18-22 in New York.

The F. Paul Anderson Award, ASHRAE’s highest honor, is awarded for outstanding services performed in the HVACR field. The recipient is Presidential Member Kent Peterson, PE, Fellow ASHRAE, ASHRAE-Certified Building Energy Assessment Professional.

The Hall of Fame honors deceased ASHRAE members who made milestone contributions to the growth of HVACR technology. The recipient is Fred Wolf Jr., who contributed to the development of home refrigeration and played an active role in mass-marketing one of the first simple, inexpensive household refrigerators, the DOMELRE, in 1913.

Fellow ASHRAE is a membership grade recognizing members who have attained distinction and made substantial contributions in HVACR and the built environment, including education, research, engineering design and consulting, invention, publications, presentations, and mentoring. Fifteen members were elevated to the grade of Fellow ASHRAE:

• Roberto Aguilo, PE, owner, Ing. Aguilo & Associates, Buenos Aires, Argentina.

• David Branson, PE, executive president and chief operations officer, Compliance Services Group, Lubbock, Texas.

• J. Steven Brown, PhD, PE, associate professor and associate dean of School of Engineering, The Catholic University of America, Washington, D.C.

• Thomas Butcher, PhD, deputy chair, Sustainable Energy Technologies Department, Brookhaven National Laboratory, Upton, N.Y.

• Stephen Duda, PE, ASHRAE-Certified Building Energy Assessment, High-Performance Building, and Healthcare Facility Design Professional, assistant director of mechanical engineering, Ross & Baruzzini, St. Louis.

• D.Y. (Yogi) Goswami, PhD, PE, Life Member, distinguished professor and director, Clean Energy Research Center, University of South Florida, Tampa, Fla.

• Edison Guimaraes, PE, Life Member, engineering director, Datum Consultoria e Projetos, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

• M. Dennis Knight, PE, ASHRAE-Certified Building Energy Modeling Professional, chief executive officer, Whole Buildings Systems, Mt. Pleasant, S.C.

• Gerhard W. Knutson, PhD, Life Member, president, Knutson Ventilation Consulting, Edina, Minn.

• Chao-Hsin Lin, PhD, PE, technical fellow, Boeing Co., Redmond, Wash.

• Richard Lord, Carrier fellow, Climate Controls and Security, Carrier Corp., a division of United Technologies, Hartford, Conn.

• Paul C. Miclea, PE, retired, Walnut Creek, Calif.

• Gregory F. Nellis, PhD, Kaiser chaired professor, University of Wisconsin, Madison, Wis.

• Jianlei Niu, PhD, PE, professor, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong.

• James K. Vallort, senior vice president, ESD, Chicago.

The ASHRAE Technology Award recognizes outstanding achievements by members who have successfully applied innovative building designs incorporating ASHRAE standards for effective energy management and indoor-air quality. ASHRAE Technology Award recipients are:

• Peter Rumsey, PE, Fellow ASHRAE, Integral Group, Oakland, Calif., first place in the new-commercial-buildings category for the Packard Foundation Net Zero Energy Headquarters, Los Altos, Calif. The building is owned by the David and Lucile Packard Foundation. Rumsey also received the Award of Engineering Excellence for the project. The recognition is given to the most outstanding project receiving a first-place Technology Award. It has been awarded only three other times, in 2000, 2005, and 2012.

• David Budd, PE, McKinstry, Seattle, first place in the existing-commercial-buildings category for the SIERR Building at McKinstry Station, Spokane, Wash. The building owner is Dean Allen.

• Darren Dageforde, PE, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, first place in the new-residential category for his home in Blair, Neb. He owns the residence with his wife, Karen.

• Gheorghe Mihalache, PhD, P.Eng., Atis Technologies, Montreal, Quebec, Canada, first place in the existing-industrial-facilities-or-processes category for Fromagerie des Basques, Trois-Pistoles, Quebec. The building owner is Yves Pettigrew.

• Stephen Hamstra, PE, ASHRAE-Certified High-Performance Building Design Professional, Greensleeves LLC, Findlay, Ohio, first place in the new-educational-facilities category for the 300 Davis Street Building, The University of Findlay, Ohio. The building is owned by the university.

• Stephanie Febles, CMTA Consulting Engineers, Lexington, Ky., first place in the new-educational-facilities category for Locust Trace AgriScience Farm, Lexington, Ky. The building is owned by Fayette County Public Schools.

In the ASHRAE Student Design Project Competition, first place in HVAC System Design Calculations went to Jayson Bursill, Natasha Palmer, Angela Walton, and Gavin Wong of the University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada. First place in HVAC System Selection was awarded to Garrett Elder, Nathan Love, and Nick Theimer of Kansas State University, Manhattan. First place in Integrated Sustainable Building Design was awarded to Jiayi Qiu, Dalin Si, Yukai Wu, Zhongzhe Wu, Ruijun Zhang, Zhiang Zhang, and Xuyang Zhong of the University of Nottingham, United Kingdom.

The 2013 Applied Engineering Challenge stipulated students design a refrigeration unit that could transport small essential cargo, such as food or medicine. First place went to Brian Kaufman, Nick Leeburg, Xiao Jun “Tony” Lin, and Micah Reich of San Jose State University in San Jose, Calif.

The Milton W. Garland Commemorative Refrigeration Award for Project Excellence recognizes innovative and/or new technologies in comfort-cooling applications. It is awarded to Cameron E. Lowry, P.Eng., industrial markets leader, Trane Canada, Burnaby, B.C.

The E.K. Campbell Award honors outstanding achievements by engineering educators and is presented by the ASHRAE Life Members Club. The recipient is Jeffrey Spitler, PhD, PE, Regents and C.M. Leonard professor, Oklahoma State University, Stillwater.

The ASHRAE Award for Distinguished Public Service recognizes ASHRAE members who have performed outstanding public service in their community and, in doing so, have helped to improve the public image of the engineer. It is awarded to Jeff Gatlin, PE, vice president and co-owner, Thompson Engineering, Memphis, Tenn.

The Pioneers of the Industry Award honors deceased individuals who have made milestone contributions to the growth of HVACR. The recipients are John Gorrie (1802-1855), the first American to use mechanical refrigeration for comfort cooling, and Alfred R. Wolff (1855-1909), a pioneering heating and ventilating engineer at the end of the 19th century.