Skip navigation

ASHRAE Installs Officers, Directors

The American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) installed new officers and directors during its 2011 Annual Meeting, held June 25-29 in Montreal.

The new president is Ronald Jarnagin, staff scientist, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Richland, Wash. His presidential theme is “Sustaining ASHRAE Through Leadership.”

Also installed for a one-year term were:

  • President-Elect Thomas Watson, PE, chief engineer, McQuay International, Staunton, Va.

  • Treasurer William P. Bahnfleth, PhD, PE, professor, The Pennsylvania State University, University Park, Pa.

  • Vice President Constantinos A. Balaras, PhD, PE, research director, Institute for Environmental Research and Sustainable Development, National Observatory of Athens, Greece.

  • Vice President Ross D. Montgomery, PE, owner, Quality Systems and Technology Inc., Palmetto, Fla.

  • Vice President T. David Underwood, P.Eng., retired, Oakville, Ontario, Canada.

  • Vice President Timothy G. Wentz, PE, associate professor, University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

The following were installed for three-year terms running from 2011 to 2014:

  • Region VII Director and Regional Chair Jeff W. Gatlin, PE, vice president and co-owner, Thompson Engineers Inc., Memphis, Tenn.

  • Region VIII Director and Regional Chair John L. Harrod, PE, senior mechanical engineer, SAIC Energy, Environment and Infrastructure LLC, Oklahoma City.

  • Region IX Director and Regional Chair Richard J. Bowman, owner, Mechanical Concepts LLC, Wichita, Kan.

  • Region X Director and Regional Chair Michael T. Burgess, PE, president, Burgess Group, San Diego.

  • Region at Large Director and Regional Chair Ashok K. Virmani, managing director and owner, Suvidha Engineers India Pvt. Ltd., Noida, India.

  • Director at Large Roberto R. Aguilo, PE, owner, Ing. Aguilo and Associates, Buenos Aires, Argentina, and professor, Universidad Nacional de Luján, Argentina.

  • Director at Large Patricia Graef, PE, director, evaporative-media core technology, Munters Corp., Fort Myers, Fla.

  • Director at Large Stephen D. Kennedy, territorial-affairs manager, Georgia Power Co., Atlanta.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.