Skip navigation

Johnson Controls, USEA Induct Energy-Efficiency Leaders to Hall of Fame

As the United States and the world develop policies and actions designed to reduce energy and prevent climate change, Johnson Controls Inc. and the U.S. Energy Association (USEA) will honor 22 people who have dedicated their careers to energy efficiency.

The inaugural Energy Efficiency Forum Hall of Fame event will take place Monday, June 15, in Washington, DC. It precedes the 20th anniversary of the Energy Efficiency Forum, the first event of its type to convene politicians, business leaders, and non-governmental organizations to promote energy efficiency. The forum will take place the following day at the National Press Club.

“Looking back over two decades we have seen many promises, policies, and strategies in dealing with our energy challenges,” Barry K. Worthington, USEA executive director and forum co-chair, said. “We believe it’s appropriate to honor those who make energy efficiency their personal and professional passion.”

Profiles of the inductees can be found at the forum's Website. The inductees include:

• Spencer Abraham, former U.S. Secretary of Energy
• Kateri Callahan, president, Alliance to Save Energy
• Eileen Claussen, president, Pew Center on Global Climate Change and Strategies for the Global Environment
• Douglas Decker, founder, Energy Efficiency Forum
• Byron Dorgan, U.S. Senator, North Dakota
• Christine Ervin, former president, U.S. Green Buildings Council
• David Garman, former Under Secretary of Energy
• John Gibbons, first director, U.S. Office of Energy Conservation
• Mark Ginsberg, former director, Federal Energy Management Program
• Kathleen Hogan, director, Climate Protection Partnerships Division, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
• Alexander “Andy” Karsner, former Assistant Secretary for Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy
• Thomas Kuhn, president, Edison Electric Institute
• Tom Leppert, mayor of Dallas, Texas; former chief executive officer, Turner Construction
• Greg Nichols, mayor of Seattle, Wash.
• Hazel O'Leary, former U.S. Secretary of Energy; president, Fisk University
• Dan Reicher, former Assistant Secretary for Energy Efficiency and Renewable energy; director, Climate Change and Energy Initiatives,
• James Rogers, chairman, president, and chief executive officer, Duke Energy
• Philip Sharp, former U.S. Congressman, Indiana; president, Resources for the Future
• Branko Terzic, former Federal Energy Regulatory Commissioner; regulatory policy leader—energy and resources, Deloitte Services LP
• Christine Whitman, former Governor of New Jersey, former EPA Administrator
• Timothy E. Wirth, former U.S. Senator, Colorado; president, United Nations Foundation

“Over the years, these representatives from private industry and the public sector have in some way sponsored legislation, developed programs, or otherwise represented what it takes to achieve energy efficiency through bipartisan government leadership and strong business implementation,” C. David Myers, president of Johnson Controls Building Efficiency business, said.

Inductees of the Hall of Fame include individuals who have advanced the mission of the Energy Efficiency Forum: “To be the premier forum that promotes an energy efficiency ethic through the presentation of national and worldwide views on energy efficiency and the resulting impact on the environment, national security and economic growth.”

The Hall of Fame inductees were selected by the Energy Efficiency Forum Executive Council through the following criteria:

• The nominee must have demonstrated ongoing leadership in energy efficiency, making the topic a significant part of the individual’s career and extending his/her impact beyond the organization.
• The nominee must have attained recognition in the field of energy efficiency, either in the public or private sector.
• The nominee must have advanced the Energy Efficiency Forum mission.
• The nominee must have participated or plan to participate in an Energy Efficiency Forum, as an award recipient, speaker, or member of the Executive Council.

After the inaugural induction, the Energy Efficiency Forum Hall of Fame will consider new inductees every five years.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.